This Is My Moment

Everything you have ever wanted is on the other side of fear”

Brian Tracy 


At the beginning of 2016 I started to write. Just notes in a journal, but the first one was entitled : 2016 – My Year?

Reading that journal entry brings about a sad smile. I promised that if, on 31st Dec 2016, I had had a good year then I would label 2016 as ‘my year’. I can safely say that as of 17th August 2016 it is definitely NOT my year. Some could even say it has been one of my worst years to date.

BUT……..(and like mine it’s a big but)

Does your year have to be 365 happy days? Yes it’s August, and yes I’ve been through more in the past 6 months than some do in years, drank way to much alcohol recently and cried until the tears ran dry, but does that mean 2016 is a write off?

By my reckoning there are still roughly 136 days left of 2016. Ok, it’s not quite half BUT it is definitely more than a quarter and that alone should be something to focus on. For 3 whole months I could make 2016 amazing. I can close the door and lock it leaving 16th Aug and before firmly on the other side. I could swallow that key and make damn sure no one can unlock that shit storm and release it again. It’s MY key. I never thought I would be able to look at things that way but I’m in control. That door that is currently open represents all my fears. Fears that will consume me if I let them. Fears that have haunted me since I was a child. If I can get passed those fears, then I can turn 2016 around. Maybe learn a new hobby, shave my head (!!), lose some weight – there are no boundaries except fear itself.

I think it’s time to lock that door.

Leave a Reply

